The Place Where The Dreamcatcher Hangs

DSC_7312 (2)

At the back gate where the frangipani struggles
against the predations of passing samplers
who want a piece for their garden
without asking, or caring that the cumulative
effect is the snipered dwarfism of gnarly limbs

where I dismount from bicycle to lift the latch
there is a sound, of tinkling glass
taken out of context in the windy day
mirrored fragments in a jellyfish’s trailing tentacles
against the blue of winter sky
where the last season’s leaves have dropped
and next summer’s have not yet sprouted

some devotee to the higher power of dream
has suspended the catcher of my attentions
a devotion to the recycled
my second-hand dreams for the flower
that is yet to unfurl its peachy pinks
like a myriad of sunsets or summer cocktails
resplendent with grenadine against horizon’s bow

then one can see – it has already worked!
my dreams fluttered there
caught in the moment of suggestion…
I lift the latch and wheel the bicycle in across the lawn
tinkling sounds of dreams snared thus behind me

_____

I wrote this one last month and unfortunately the universe that inspired someone to decorate our backyard tree with a beautiful dream catcher has compelled someone else to move it on.

Even if it was something that my mother would not have put there, and knowing that she has previously offered it to my sister to take home with her,  she swears she didn’t touch it!

Oh well. It was nice while it was there and it did give me some inspiration every time I left the yard or garage. <AJC>

_____

Update: My sister says that for the record she has never been told to take it home with her. The plot thickens! <AJC>

5 thoughts on “The Place Where The Dreamcatcher Hangs

  1. Hi,

    I came across your list regarding the Britton family on Trove and put 2 and 2 together to find this site.I live in Sydney and am doing some work on the cemetery adjacent to St Johns Church, Gordon. The first burial at the cemetery, on 8 May 1867, was that of Mary Ann Britton, first wife of John and mother of William, Alice and Sarah. Please send me an email if you would like a photo of Sarah’s headstone. Regards, Colin Choat.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Colin
      Small world! Sorry about the delay in getting back to you on this one – haven’t been accessing my blog since moving house and starting a writing course…Sarah Ann Cornwell (nee Britton) would be my father’s grandmother… What’s your email address? Reply here or SMS it to me on 0439304911… Hope to visit Sydney (staying in Castle Hill) in the upcoming September school holidays and catch up with Small Family relatives…
      Regards
      Alexandra

      Like

Leave a Reply

