BUTTERFLIES IN TRAINING

We’re small people going on an excursion with our teacher. A school day but off the school grounds. We are to walk in formation. The arrangement transforms us externally. Makes us safer. To those within it is something else.
“Everybody in lines. Girls, line up behind Amelia. Boys there, behind Tonto. Good. Off we go then. Everyone hold hands. ”

“Hold my hand.”
“No. I want to rub my eye.”
“You have to hold my hand. Miss said so.”
“Here’s one hand. But I’m still going to rub my eye. OK?
“Just don’t break my arm.”
“Caterpillars don’t have arms.”

Leave a Reply

