A triptych of 100 words on Moby’s ‘The Perfect Life’ music video

MUSING ON MUSIC VIDEO CASTING

One evening there was nothing except the music videos. Maybe it was the first time I’d sat there long enough to appreciate the three or four hours of flickering colour and images before they started repeating themselves.
I eventually packed myself of to bed, to sleep with images of black and white sombrero-wearing mariachis walking through some American urban landscape.
Casting had to provide a S&M gimp rhythmic gymnast.
Where do these people think this stuff up?
Later I re-watch the video online. At the 1:18 mark I find the S&M gimp.
He is the one twirling a red ribbon.

__________

ANYONE CAN PUT IT ON THEIR CURRICULUM VITAE

I wondered who is going to put that on their CV?
The slender person in the black bodysuit has their face completely covered.
Though I think questions would be asked if you tried to pass it off as one of your meatier roles.
My friend asks: Do people like this have CVs?
I think portfolios are more likely.
But then who gets around with an orchestra and piano going up an escalator?
Or has a maypole experience somewhere with full choir and orchestra, while wearing mariachi sombreros?
The roller skaters added a nice touch, one flashing gold lame hot pants.

__________

DREAMING MUSIC VIDEOS AND MONOCHROMATIC MUSIC

Having watched a music video, my friend admits to having had dreams with more sensible assumptions about reality. He supposes it is a small matter.
If you are a creative type, day dreams can look like this.
Technicolour.
Although the main characters are in monochrome.
Glorious monochrome.
I ask: Isn’t music almost always printed in black & white?
I am informed that they may appear monochromatic, though they embody something else.
My learned friend has seen music written in other variations, but still monochrome. He asserts that scales can be chromatic.
I like how we wander ‘off topic’ like that.

__________

 

Leave a Reply

